Changing video during a conference

This section describes how to control video in a Collaboration conference.

The Host and the Participants can add and remove video in a conference. In addition, the Host can change video settings from the default values either during a conference as described below, or in advance in the Collaboration Management User Portal.

Sending your video

Anyone can choose whether or not they want to share their video. If the Host does not send their own video, other conference members can still send theirs and receive video feed from others who chose to send their video. The layout of the video that conference members see varies depending on the Host's conference video settings.

Local video preview

You can see a preview of your outgoing video feed. It is a good idea to check what others will see in your video feed before sending your video.

Controlling the video feed

The way video appears varies depending on the Host's video settings.

Initially, the video is sent using the Host's default video settings. The Host can change the video resolution, the video layout and the video floor while the conference is in progress.

Video resolution

The Host can change the default video downstream resolution during a conference. Using a higher video resolution provides a crisper image but uses more bandwidth.

Video layout options

The Host can select from built-in video layout options. All conference members see the video stream in the layout set by the Host.

Video floor

The video floor is the conference video stream that is in the main view. Unless the Host assigns the video floor, the video floor shows the video from the conference member that is speaking.

Changing cameras

If you have more than one camera connected to your computer, you can choose the camera to send video. You can swap between the front- and rear-facing cameras on mobile. You can also view video information using the conference console toolbar.