Setting up your voice service provider

Bria supports the use of Internet Telephony Service Providers (ITSPs) and custom SIP servers (your PBX).

If you are subscribing to Bria Teams, you already have a Team Voice account configured for making calls between team members. Read this topic if you already have a voice service or PBX that your team has been using and you want to use that with Bria to call non-team members. Enter information about your voice service provider on Bria Portal. It appears as a second voice account for your team members to make calls, in addition to the pre-configured Team Voice account.

The "Voice and Video" tab.

Get the information

Your service provider or IT department can give you all the details you need to add SIP or ITSP information to your Bria Portal. Contact your service provider for the list of settings.

The information you need consists of two parts: the server information that is shared among all users (such as a SIP server URL), and the user-specific information such as user account and password.

Not all settings need to be specified when you set up a SIP account. Your service provider can advise as to which settings are necessary.

Enter the information into Bria Portal

After getting the information about your voice service, enter it using Bria Portal.

  1. In Bria Portal menu, click Voice and Video. The Voice and Video page opens.

  2. Click Add Voice Configuration. The Add Voice Service screen opens.

  3. Click either Configure SIP Settings or Select from Providers.

  4. Fill in the form with the server settings:

  5. If users need a unique SIP username for each device they are using, see Multi-device Configuration. Most SIP servers do not require device specific credentials.
  6. Do one of the following:

    • If you have already invited your team members via email, click Assign Voice Accounts. Proceed with Step 7 below.

    • If you have not invited your team members yet, click Save and close because you need to come back to it after inviting them to Bria Teams. See Add a custom voice account for team members for the rest of the steps.
  7. Click Add Voice Configuration to add a voice account to each team member.

  8. Enter SIP Username/Call extension, SIP/Voice Password, and Call Display.
  9. Click Save and Close.

Test the setup

Log into your Bria client to see if the custom SIP account can register.

On desktop, click the arrow beside Auto Select. On mobile, go to Bria Settings > Accounts. You should see both accounts with a green icon.

The accounts are listing in "Settings" > "Accounts".

Let the team members know of the custom SIP account

This step applies if you subscribe to Bria Teams.

Make sure to let your team members know that the custom SIP account has been configured for calling outside of your team.

In order to call outside of your team, your team members must choose the custom SIP account as an Outgoing account. To do so, instruct your team members to do the following:

  • On Bria Desktop, click Outgoing Account and select the custom SIP account you configured.
  • On Bria Mobile, go to Bria, then Settings > Accounts. Tap the custom SIP account. The green dot appears beside the custom SIP account.

The user may need to log out from their Bria client and log in again for the custom SIP account to be visible to them.

More configurations

Optionally you can configure the following:

  • Setting up dial plans for your custom SIP account
  • Select which codecs to enable
  • Change a method to send DTMF
  • Set the location of your team for the Collaboration feature. Go to Settings and Preferences in the Bria Portal menu.

Editing a voice server configuration

To change the server information that you previously saved, click Edit configuration. When done, click Save and Close. The changes you made will take effect next time team members log into Bria.

Deleting a voice server configuration

To delete a voice server configuration, click Remove Configuration. Removing the server information also deletes a voice account from team members if configured. Team members will see the account removed next time team members log into Bria. You can remove the voice account from a team member rather than deleting the voice server configuration.

Some changes require team members to restart or re-login to their client applications. These changes are identified by Restart Client Apps.